Subscribe:Posts Comments

You Are Here: Home » Cricket, News, Sports » T20: India bat, Yusuf, Uthappa play

Kolkata: MS Dhoni won the toss and chose to bat first, as the final match of England’s humiliating tour of India prepared to get underway at Eden Gardens.

On the same used strip on which England lost 10 wickets for 47 in the final ODI earlier in the week, England’s captain Graeme Swann admitted he would also have chosen to bat. Instead, the onus is on England to keep India’s total to manageable proportions - no easy task given the relative confidence levels in the two squads.

The good news for England is the return to the team of Kevin Pietersen, who aggravated a chipped bone in his thumb when he was struck by a stray ball during England’s warm-up ahead of the fifth ODI. He takes his place at No. 3 ahead of Ian Bell; with the ODI captain Alastair Cook making way for Nottinghamshire’s Alex Hales.

Jade Dernbach, who struggled for consistency in the 50-over games, returns at the expense of Stuart Meaker, while the Somerset ball-striker Jos Buttler takes over from Jonathan Trott.

India has put their faith in the majority of the players who wrapped up their 5-0 whitewash. Nine of the men who featured on Tuesday return for this game, with Gautam Gambhir a notable absentee after his recent wedding. Robin Uthappa slots into the side for his first international since 2008. Also earning a recall is the hard-hitting middle-order batsman Yusuf Pathan, who has been in mothballs since the tour of the Caribbean in the spring.

India 1 Ajinkya Rahane, 2 Robin Uthappa, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Manoj Tiwary, 5 Suresh Raina, 6 MS Dhoni (capt and wk), 7 Yusuf Pathan, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 R Ashwin, 10 Praveen Kumar, 11 R Vinay Kumar

England 1 Craig Kieswetter (wk), 2 Alex Hales, 3 Kevin Pietersen, 4 Ravi Bopara, 5 Jonny Bairstow, 6 Jos Buttler, 7 Samit Patel, 8 Graeme Swann, 9 Tim Bresnan, 10 Jade Dernbach, 11 Steven Finn

AsortWeb Business Hosting
© 2012 · Subscribe:PostsComments · Designed by Madurai City